top of page

Hot tubs and sushi!

Hey there!!

So it's nearly March already! I can't believe it!! I thought I should add another wee post for you. I hope you are all good.

I just wanted to send a huge lot of support and thoughts to a couple of people who have been in touch who are about to have surgery. One of whom is having two lots of surgery for their tumour. So here's to them :)

Also.. this month saw my first man to contact me via my website. I mention this because I think guys see and deal with things entirely differently and it was good to hear from him. Thanks!! (You know who you are!)

I have been good this month... After a nasty incident with a hot tub (entirely not tumour related) and some very stingy sushi last night (allergic to prawns!! but sushi was amasing!) I can look back at my YEAR anniversary and be sooo happy that I'm fit and healthy and be proud at how hard I've worked and how it's paid off.

The cold is affecting the scar a little, achey and sore. I've stepped up the painkillers, but I hear the weekend is set to be warmer so maybe a nice tan is in order! !!!!!

I'm finding that the deafness is really tuning up my good ear. I am able to make out one sound really well. It does mean that I can't hear anything else and I miss anything on my bad side, but It's good to be able to consciously do this. Although the noise from the background is still there.

However... I went kitesurfing this weekend just gone (braving those elements!) and I did have to walk around covering one eye again because I was seeing double. Not having any tears or moisture in the eye means it gets soooo dry and stops working properly.. but it's all about knowing your limits.

Pyschologically... hmmm! This is the one. I am starting a short course of counselling to address the trauma of surgery and the side effects that have changed things. It's good to actually be able to talk about it all, how it felt, how it happened and what I feel now to someone who isn't a friend. Sometimes I feel like I must bore them. It's also good to get a professional opinion on why you feel the things you do. I am not scarred by the trauma I just felt as though I needed to talk it out. I'd recommend it. I think I'd put it all away in a box and not looked at it and then the box started splitting!

Thanks to all of you that have been in touch... please keep contacting me... I am hoping to push the resources for AN's as much as possible.. hoping to add a few links in the next few days too. Don't forget to 'like' the facebook page if you're a Facebook person!!!

Judes x

bottom of page