top of page

Spring time..!

So it's spring time people!!

Time for me to get back out on the board and the kite now I'm so much stronger! Although some wind would help!

These last few weeks have provided me with a lot of emails from you guys. Alot of new diagnosis and old sufferers. It really is good to hear from you all and I like hearing your stories. They come from all over the place too... USA, Australia, UK, China, Germany. It's great. I really want to get acoustic neuroma's on the map!

So a symptom round up... Well I know I've been so lucky and over a year on I do so well and it's not often that symptoms get in the way. I had some questions about my eye the other day, and unfortunately it is still a pain and unlikely to get any better. It works.. it's just very dry. It makes things seem a bit blurry sometimes because it gets so dry it's as if it stops moving. I use drops to aid it, and always in the wind I wear glasses. I also find that I need a hat in extreme cold or wind. It really helps my balance and it stops my face going SUPER SUPER numb!

The dizziness is so much better. I'm feeling it today and at the moment I am sleeping like I'm dead! But I think my body is finally winning and it's making me give in to it and I think underneath the heavy eyelids and inability to get up I am finally healing up nicely :) I can't believe sometimes that the symptoms are still here so far on, but realistically if I were talking to a patient of mine I'd be saying that it was very normal. It was BIG surgery!

My tongue remains numb and actually is my best indicator that I'm tired. When I am tired it gets very tingly and I often end up having to rest for a few hours. I am getting very good at managing my boundaries and knowing when to stop. I am actually listening to me! Eating seems to help too. I have to keep my blood sugar in a good limit because otherwise I get very dizzy. This is new. It wasn't like this before the op.

So there you have it.. we are on the up!! No more scans for a bit. Morris is behaving. I am having a little therapy to learn to accept the changes to my body and my limitations and it really helps. One of the things I have learnt is that I have to accept Morris and all the side effects that have happened before I can allow any one else to accept it. So this week I have actually been telling people I can't hear and could they turn it down or talk the other side... and do you know what? No one minds!!!!!

Take care of you... keep me posted all of you that have been in touch and those that are here for the first time. Please get in touch

Judes x

bottom of page