top of page

BAHA part 2 pictures!

Here is a little picture update of today! Stitch removal and dressings off.

TODAY was incredible... I actually heard something deep inside my head. My nurse was taking the scabs away from the abutement and he ran his tweezers over it. Metal on metal. I HEARD THE NOISE!!!!! On the bad side first, then I felt it along my teeth as if you were running a spoon along them, then slightly afterwards I heard it on the good side. I looked at my friend and said.. wow.. It's like hearing in stereo!! hah.. stupid really because that's what's normal for most!!

I couldn't believe how much it made me smile! I don't know what it will be like with the sound processer on but It's a good start!

Its been a tough week since the first appointment at 5 days. Headaches, dizziness, sickness and the serious post op blues. I haven't been able to really drive my car as it makes me really dizzy and sick but that's ok.. I just call for a chauffer!! hah ;) Painkillers haven't really worked because the pain is typical morris pain coupled with pain in the wound. It still feels like it's been anaesthetised but it's just swelling and this swelling is the thing that's causing the sickness and dizzy-ness. Ive been combatting it with slow movements and resting, getting really good sleep. Im really hoping it will all be worth it :)

1) With stitches, once the dressing is off

The wound without dressings

Here's the pictures of today. Wanted to show you how deep it is too.. just excuse the lanky greasy hair. Haven't been able to wash it for ten days!! One more week of careful skillfull washing to avoid the area and then I can properly as long as I dry it out well. Mine's healed really well so far and I have to clean it daily from here in. It's easy to do and doesn't hurt at all. Part 3 in a few weeks... sounds coming!! :)

2) To show the depth

Stitches out

3) Without stitches

bottom of page