top of page

BAHA PART 3 and FINAL!

Helloooo!!!

Sorry BAHA part 3 became pushed out with all the other things going on!

There's not much to say really. I think it's only now that my site is pretty healed up. It's taken ages to stop weeping and then scabbing over. It made the area around it pretty tender and the sensation in my head has been very strange, not being able to feel my skull properly, like having been to the dentist! That hasn't changed but the pain in the site is gone mostly :) Whats that ...6 months? That would be about right for healing. I have made a conscious effort not to sleep on it for a bit, and I actually stopped wearing the BAHA for a week to stop irritating it. Now it's generally lovely and I can swim and shower with it no problems now :)

I had my LAST hearing appointment in February and whilst initially I failed the hearing test, actually losing some decibels of hearing off the last one (oops!)! We readjusted the BAHA on the new system and its working really well now and I have an EXTRA decibel of hearing from pre baha!

We have adjusted it for dealing with the noise of my hair rubbing against it and wind noise is now best dealt with on a different setting where it can limit that input. I have bought myself an I phone 5 however as then I can use the APP that comes with the new BAHA 5 (iphone 5 and above) and its actually really useful to be able to change the volume and have your baha change settings for different environments automatically. For example, if I'm on bluetooth and I travel to an area that I have connected with my BAHA as a different setting, then my phone tracks this and changes the setting automatically. ie: work vs home!

Overall... YES I AM GLAD I HAVE DONE IT. It's so nice to be able to hear things that I thought were gone forever like people on my right and to know where things are. BUT.. what I will say is that I do have to have a break from it as it really works my brain when I am hearing so much and trying to work out what is where. I do think it helps me balance wise too as it allows me to hear from both sides which is more balancing in general. So thumbs up to the BAHA :) but it's no picnic! It takes a long time to heal and theres always this tightness in your skull... not to mention the R2D2 sounds whenever someone gets near it! hah I would say just be really sure that you want it, because you have to put in a lot of work in these first months to make it fit your life. After that I think it will be plain sailing. It already feels like it's always been there. Its a shame the head is more numb.... but that might have been coming anyway!! ha

Morris update very soon.. just wanted to finish the BAHA Chapter!

bottom of page